Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

UIL

uil

 

The University Interscholastic League was created by The University of Texas at Austin to provide leadership and guidance to public school debate and athletic teachers. Since 1910 the UIL has grown into the largest inter-school organization of its kind in the world. The UIL continues to operate as part of the University of Texas, under the auspices of the Vice President for Diversity & Community Engagement.

The UIL exists to provide educational extracurricular academic, athletic, and music contests. The initials UIL have come to represent quality educational competition administered by school people on an equitable basis.

Why Have Interschool Activities?

TEAMWORK. Participation teaches that it is a privilege and an honor to represent one's school. Students learn to win and to lose; to take as well as to give. Self-motivation and intellectual curiosity are essential to the best academic participants. Physical training and good health habits are essential to the best athletes.

Interscholastic competition is a fine way to encourage youngsters to enrich their education and expand their horizons. Leadership and citizenship experiences through interschool activities help prepare students for a more useful and wholesome life.

And it's fun!

 

UIL Practice Schedule

2019 - 2020

Campus: _Garza Elementary_

Event & 

Grade Level

Day (s)

Time

Location

Coach’s Name & Email

Science 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

427

Jessica Aguilar 

j.aguilar4@lajoyaisd.net

Art 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

Cafeteria 

Monica Marines 

m.marines@lajoyaisd.net

Creative Writing 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

209

Tanya Garza 

t.garza4@lajoyaisd.net

Ready Writing 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

420

Claudia Martinez 

c.martinez6@lajoyaisd.net

Dictionary Skills 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

201

Anna Nava

a.nava@lajoyaisd.net 

Maps, Graphs, Charts 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

412

Zabdiel Sanchez Jr. 

z.sanchez@lajoyaisd.net

Listening Skills 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

215

Mary Lou Ruiz 

m.ruiz5@lajoyaisd.net

Spelling 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

152

Amanda Galvan 

a.silva2@lajoyaisd.net

Oral Reading 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

405

Yadira Garcia 

y.garcia3@lajoyaisd.net  

Spanish Poetry 

Monday 

3:30-5:30

208

Erika Pena  

e.pena3@lajoyaisd.net

Story Telling 

Thursday

3:30-5:30

427

Claudia Guerra 

j.aguilar4@lajoyaisd.net

Math 

Monday

3:30-5:30

407

Claudia Guerra 

c.guerra3@lajoyaisd.net


 

You can find our permission slips under Forms for Campus**